Sunday, August 31, 2008

Dolphins make 17 roster moves

Here is the list of players the Dolphins released today in order to get to the 53-man limit (link):

CB Will Billingsley
LB Titus Brown
S Courtney Bryan
C Mike Byrne
WR Jayson Foster
LB Maurice Fountain
LB Junior Glymph
T Daren Heerspink
RB Lex Hilliard
FB Reagan Mauia
LB Edmond Miles
TE Matthew Mulligan
LB Kelly Poppinga
G/T Pedro Sosa
C Matt Spanos
DT Anthony Toribio

Contract Terminated
TE Justin Peelle


The only player on that list I'm a little surprised about is LB Edmond Miles. He was one of, if not the best, special teams players on the team last year just as a rookie. It would have been nice to see him stay, especially after Keith Davis, another special teams stud, already got the boot.

It's also surprising to note who made the team. Granted, everyone expects the roster to still change frequently over the next week or so, but it's interesting to note that guys like Lionel Dotson, Anthony Armstrong, Rodrique Wright, and Paul Soliai made the initial roster.

No comments: